Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
François 1 & Wilmington Charter : A New Look
23 avril 2020

DM : DAVID LIVINGSTONE'S EXPEDITIONS

To be handed on May, 7th

To go further : 2 videos on YouTube : "The Incredible Story of David Livingstone and his expeditions" 1:27:18 by Tracking the Wild

or "Christian Faith : David Livingstone Journey in Africa" 53:01. Life Worth Living

HOMEWORK

 

TOPIC : DAVID LIVINGSTONE’S EXPEDITIONS

source 1 : Livingtone’s Zambezi expedition (1858 - 1864)

 In a letter written just before leaving England, Livingstone reveals his motives.

« That you may have a clear idea of my objectives I may sate that they have something more in them than mets the eye. They are not merely exploratory, for I go with the intention of benefiting both the Africans and my own countrymen. I take a practical mining geologist from the School of Mines to tell us of the mineral resources of the country, then an economic botanist to give a full report of the vegetable productions - fibrous, gummy and medicinal substances together with the dye stuffs - everything which may be useful in commerce. An artist to give the scenery, a naval officer to tell the capacity of the river communications and a moral agent to lay Christian foundation for knowing that ail fully. All this machinery has for its ostensible object the development of African trade and the promotion of civilization, but what I tell to none but such as you in whom I have confidence is thus : I hope it may result in an English clone in the healthy highlands of Central Africa - (I have told it only to the Duke of Argyll). I believe the highlands are healthy, the wild vine flourishes there - Europeans with a speedy transit to the coast would collect and transmit the produce to the sea and in the course of time, say when my head is low, free labour on the African soil might render slave labour, which is notoriously dear labour, quite unprofitable. I take my wife and one child. We are organizing an iron house near the Kafue to serve as a depot that we may not appear as vagabonds in the country and may God prosper our attempts to promote the welfare of our fellow men. »

David Livingstone, Letter to A. Sedgwick, February 6th, 1858

Source 2 : Livingstone's expeditions in Africa - Encyclopaedia Britannica

Explorations-David-Livingstone

 

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
François 1 & Wilmington Charter : A New Look
Publicité
Archives
Publicité